Users can be retired in Hackmud, either through manually running the `Cretire_user <user>` command `E(this does not give a confirmation prompt!)` or `sperformed automatically` through account inactivity.
When a player goes idle for long enough in Hackmud, their users will eventually be retired. This process is prevented by opening the Hackmud client on the appropriate Steam account and getting to the `Cuser` list screen. You do not need to switch to a user to keep the account active for this purpose.
If a player continues to leave their users idle, the following process occurs for automatic user retirement:
`C == 56 DAYS ==`
After 56 days of account inactivity, you will receive an email from `Ftrust``C@hackmud.com` reminding you that your users will soon expire -- as long as you have associated an email to your account. Associating an email to your account can be performed by going to the Hackmud Forums (https://hackmud.com/forums
), signing in through Steam, then updating the email address under "Account" (there is also a checkbox to let you choose whether you receive this reminder email)
`E== 60 DAYS ==`
After 60 days of account inactivity, the user retirement process begins. Any users associated to the account will be moved into the "Retired users" section of your `Cuser` screen. At this point, the users are not able to be recovered through in-game means, however it is still possible to send an email to `Csupport@hackmud.com` asking for your users to be unretired. If this is due to account inactivity, your request will usually be obliged. This is not guaranteed in any way, however.
If you retire a user manually, this is the stage the retirement process begins at.
`D== 90 DAYS ==`
After 90 days of account inactivity, or 30 days from user retirement, the users that were in your "Retired users" section will be removed. The users are renamed to random names that look similar to NPC usernames. (`Cderelict_xyzabc`, for example) Any GC and upgrades that were on these users will remain, for now. The database collection associated to the user is disassociated, effectively wiping out anything stored in the user's DB. Any scripts that were uploaded will remain, however they will use the NPC username, and there is a chance for these scripts to become "corrupted" -- an intentional mechanic that replaces random parts of your script output with garbage characters, amongst other oddities.
Anonymized users are not recoverable. Players are able to reclaim the old username at any time from this point onwards. Any scripts that are still on your local machine will remain.
`d== ??? DAYS ==`
After a variable amount of time from a user becoming an NPC, the NPC will eventually be destroyed. During this process, upgrades are randomly distributed to active users -- then the NPC is fully deleted from the game.